Skip to content

Quickly Noted: CPHP’s Defunded?

June 29, 2007

Medicaid Budget Cuts Heads up from Kim at Disaster Preparedness. Apparently the CDC’s Academic Centers for Public Health Preparedness (CPHP) have been zero’ed out in next year’s budget. This is the first that I’ve heard of this, although truthfully I wouldn’t be privy to this type of news.

So, I’d like to put a feeler out to my readers: What’s going on with this? Is it true? CPHP fellows are highly encouraged to post a comment and give us the lowdown. Please defend your Center and let us all know what you’ve been up to.

My understanding of the CPHP Program is embarrassingly incomplete. I haven’t had the opportunity to interact with any of the local Centers in Harrisburg, Pittsburgh, Burlington County, NJ or UMDNJ, which is something that I now regret. For those as in the dark as I am, according to the CDC’s website the goals of the program are as follows:

  1. Strengthen public health workforce readiness through implementation of programs for life-long learning;
  2. Strengthen capacity at State and local levels for terrorism preparedness and emergency public health response; and,
  3. Develop a network of academic-based programs contributing to national terrorism preparedness and emergency response by sharing expertise and resources across State and local jurisdictions.

Seems like a pretty good idea, I think. I rarely ask for reader feedback on this blog (although I’ll always welcome it), but am reaching out to you all now. Anybody have the inside scoop? Or even any scoop?

Additional note: Yale New Haven Center for Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Response has a great weekly email update of preparedness trainings in Connecticut and news items that I’ve been receiving for a number of months now. After a bit of investigation, it seems that this wonderful product might be affected by this decision.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2007 12:48 pm

    Hi

    Thanks for elaborating more on this, I didn’t have time to.

    I worked part time for a CPHP during my MPH program, so that’s why I know about this. It was decided back in February (I think that’s when Bush released his budget plan) The Association of Schools of Public Health and the CDC were on the issue since then trying to work something out because the plan was to defund all of the CPHPs this August. At least they were able to extend it to next year instead, which will give the Centers time to look for additional funding opportunities and partner with other organizations on projects. It seems like a pretty stupid thing to do, especially with all the hype about preparedness and the events that showed us how unprepared this country really is.

  2. July 2, 2007 4:08 pm

    Kim:

    Thanks for the update. I’ll keep an eye out for updates and any new news about this and be sure to keep the blog updated with the latest.

    Keep up the good work!
    Jimmy

Trackbacks

  1. Quickly Noted: CPHP Funding « In Case of Emergency

Leave a Reply

