Skip to content

Social Research Conference on Disasters

October 12, 2007

DisasterLogo Now, I don’t usually do this kind of thing, but this conference is something that I think you all might have some use for.  I got an email from Roberta Sutton regarding an upcoming conference being held at the New School for Social Research in New York.  Here’s her pitch:

Disasters: Recipes and Remedies
A Social Research conference at The New School in New York
November 1st and 2nd, 2007
Tishman Auditorium, 66 West 12th Street, bet 6th and 5th Avenues
Please visit www.newschool.edu/disasters or email socres@newschool.edu
for more information.

Every day brings fresh news of another disaster that threatens our
lives, our homes and our entire community. Please join us as leading
experts discuss the conditions that amplify or reduce the effects of
disasters, who is most affected by them and why, and what can be done to
lessen the likelihood and the magnitude of disasters in the future.

Conference Sessions
I. Definitions: What We Talk about When We Talk about Disasters
II. Acquiring Vulnerabilities that Potentiate Disasters
III. Keynote by Nicholas Scoppetta, NYC Fire Commissioner
IV. What “Really” Happens: Preparations and Responses
V. The Impact of Disasters on Human Development

Conference Tickets: $50 ($12 for a single session)
Special for NGO/ACLU members: $35 ($8 for a single session)
Special for Full-time Students: $15 ($5 for a single session)
Special for New School Alumni: $15 ($5 for a single session)

Now, I would LOVE to go to this; unfortunately, I’ll be away most of the following week, and just can’t take the extra time off.  But in my place, I’d love for YOU GUYS to go.  The speakers list is full of folks whose books and articles I’ve read and incorporated into my own thinking.  If you’re in the area, and I know some of you are, take a couple of days to listen to what should be some very entertaining presentations.  If you can’t attend, the audio from the conference will be available as well.  I’ll be placing my order shortly so I don’t miss out.

Finally, if you have any questions about the conference, Ms. Sutton’s email address is sprinkled throughout the conference website, or you can email me and I’ll pass along your message.

And for those of you who think I might be selling out to a journal that’s not open access, while not perfect, Social Research is not as outlandishly priced as some other journals and the quality of the work is on par with those others.  I’ll keep up my calls for them to release their knowledge to the world, but in the meantime, you can attend a reasonably priced conference chock-full of that kind of knowledge.

Image courtesy of Social Research.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

