Skip to content

Quickly Noted: Microsoft Vine Update

June 4, 2009

Quick update on my review from late Tuesday night. I think that my friends @gbaron of Crisisblogger.com and Jonathan Bernstein of Bernstein Crisis Management, both of whom talk about online brand management, might find this interesting.

I posted a review of Microsoft Vine around midnight Tuesday night. Not scathing, but identified what I consider to be real shortcomings. I posted about it on Twitter right afterwards and then went to bed. In less than two hours, I got the following email:

From: Tammy <name@microsoft.com>
Date: Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 1:57 AM
Subject: Thanks
To: “JimmyJazz@breakglass.net” <JimmyJazz@breakglass.net>

Hi Jimmy,

Tammy Savage from Microsoft here.  I appreciate the fact that you found Microsoft Vine useful and your ideas about how it could be used in the ‘everyday’ scenarios.   We’ve already learned a lot over the past four weeks and the feedback we’ve gotten from customers has really helped inform our product a plans – a tradition we intend to continue.   Since your opinion about a web-based version is loud and clear, I thought you might like to know that you can expect just that from us in the near future – a web version of Microsoft Vine.   Thanks for your feedback.  I hope you will continue to share your ideas and concerns with us.
Thanks,

Tammy

First of all, that’s great news, and something that will really make Vine a useful–and useable tool. I’m totally stoked about it now, and plan to push my family and friends to look into it.

Secondly, and why I referred to my crisis comms friends up there, is–Wow–two hour response time? For something posted on two not very well trafficked sites (my blog and my Twitter-feed)? Two hours to find it, digest it, make sure I’m not a crank, craft a delightful email, get approval and send it off? On Wednesday evening hours (PDT)? Now, imagine what this does. They’ve responded to a concern I had before the East Coast woke up. It’s under control, no big deal.

Now, obviously, I’m not Jay Leno, and nothing blew up. I didn’t say that he service was a government front to steal people’s credit card information or anything. Just posted a quick blog review that pointed out that Microsoft could stand to improve a product. And they picked up on it and crafted a response in hours. Maybe I’m too used to companies and agencies saying nothing for hours, days after something major happens–but I found this impressive.

Image credit: Rob  Ireton

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

