Skip to content

PublicHealthEmergency.HHS.gov

June 29, 2010

A few months back, I made a request of you all about a website that I had come across about public health emergencies, publichealthemergency.hhs.gov:

Does anyone know anything about PublicHealthEmergency.HHS.gov? Or is this the proverbial rabbit hole, and now I’m going to be visited by black helicopters and non-speaking thick-necked goons?

I said that in jest, but figured it was probably a dark site to be ramped up in an emergency. I’m not a huge fan of wholly separate dark sites, but until my suspicions were confirmed (either way) I figured I’d let it go.

Well, today I found out exactly what the site is for. (And no, there were no black helicopters.)

Taken directly from the newly branded PHE.gov (also accessible through publichealthemergency.hhs.gov):

PHE.gov is a web portal created by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site acts as a portal for residents in the U.S. and worldwide to obtain information from all U.S. federal agencies involved in a public health emergency, a medical disaster or the public health aspects of a natural or man-made disaster.

The site is maintained by the wonderful folks at ASPR (just as I suspected) and was developed to satisfy the public information component of PAHPA.

It looks like it’s the home base for ESAR-VHP, NDMS, the ASPR playbooks as well as acting as a clearinghouse for emergency public health communications. Apparently, the page will default to the red “Emergency” tab at the top of the page when there is a public health emergency, and that will act as the proverbial one-stop shop for information. As such, it’s a dark site with a white site layered on top.

This is the first I’d heard of this page going live, and Google News didn’t give any indication that it was live. I searched for “publichealthemergency.hhs.gov” and “phe.gov.”

If anyone has anymore information on this site, please do forward it to me, I’d love to learn more. Oh, and I hope you’re ready for a deluge of public health preparedness posts, cause I’m going to mine this thoroughly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

