Skip to content

Quickly Noted: Request for Posts

August 10, 2010

What a wonderful vacation! I missed you all terribly, but what glorious rejuvenation!

And now I’m feeling generous. (…and my wife asked me to clean off my bookshelf…) So, I’m giving away the following books — each one of my all-time favorites in emergency management, public health preparedness and disaster comms (but I’m keeping my favorite, World War Z).

Betrayal of Trust: the Collapse of Global Public Health, by Laurie Garrett

Bracing for Armageddon, by William R. Clark

America the Vulnerable, by Stephen Flynn

Disaster, by Christopher Cooper and Robert Block

Crisis Communication and the Public Health, by Matthew W. Seeger, Timothy L. Sellnow, and Robert R. Ullmer

Disaster Communications in a Changing Media World, by George D. Haddow and Kim S. Haddow

The Edge of Disaster, by Stephen Flynn

There’s one hitch though. I’d love to see some posts by people other than myself. I know I’m not the only person out there that thinks about these things (you should see my inbox!), and I think that the rest of us readers can benefit from your musings.

Shoot me an email if you’re interested and would like a place in blogging history (and a free book). Your choice of topic, long, short, erudite, edited by crayon — your call.

As for me, I’ve got some things in the hopper, so expect posting to ramp up shortly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 9:01 am

    Ill take you up on that as I just received a Tweet with an article I said needed a comment via blog post. Disaster Communications in a Changing World sounds interesting Will have to E-mail later though, let me know &
    thanks

  2. August 10, 2010 7:09 pm

    Hello Jimmy … glad you’re doing well …

    I’ll have a new post on my blog tonight about the IMS, emergency info and social media … Hope you like it and you can repost/link to your liking

    BTW … i’m also a huge fan of the World War Z book …. best book i’ve ever read about how people and institutions react during an emergency … and the zombie thing is great fun !

    thanks

    Patrice

Leave a Reply

